Skip to main content

The FiscalNote Executive Institute, in partnership with the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress, is pleased to present a virtual fireside chat Sept. 8, 2-3 p.m. ET with business leader Katherine Gehl, CEO of The Institute for Political Innovation, and co-author of The Politics Industry: How Political Innovation Can Break Partisan Gridlock and Save Our Democracy.

Held in conversation with CSPC CEO Glenn Nye, the closed-door discussion will focus on Gehl’s Final-Five Voting (FFV) Initiative. This electoral reform has gained significant momentum across the country over the past year, and FFV electoral rules already are under serious consideration in several states. This election cycle, Alaska will be the first state to implement FFV-style rules, employing an open top-four primary. Additionally, Nevadans this November will vote on a proposal to adopt FFV rules in the state, and lawmakers in Wisconsin similarly are considering FFV legislation. This discussion will evaluate the solutions the FFV Initiative might provide industry leaders preparing for a post-election, highly partisan world.

Katherine M. Gehl is the founder of The Institute for Political Innovation (IPI), a nonpartisan nonprofit founded in 2020 to catalyze modern political change in America. Katherine is the originator of Politics Industry Theory, and author of The Politics Industry: How Political Innovation Can Break Partisan Gridlock and Save Our Democracy, which she co-authored with Harvard Business School professor Michael E. Porter. Katherine is a veteran of the public and private sectors. The former president and CEO of Gehl Foods, a $250-million high-tech food-manufacturing company based in Wisconsin, she increased the equity value of the company by nearly 19x over seven years before selling the company in 2015. In the public sector, Katherine served on the Board of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), the US government’s development finance institution. She is on several nonprofit boards and is an active philanthropist. She is also the honorary co-chair of the National Association of Nonpartisan Reformers, and the co-founder of Democracy Fund.


Featured Presenters

Katherine Gehl
Founder and CEO, Institute for Political Innovation

Glenn Nye
President and CEO, CSPC